How Do I Move a Folder To a Different User on Google Drive?

Back

Sometimes one may want to physically move files from one Google Drive user to another, instead of just sharing them. For this, first collect all the files you want to move to a single folder. Then move the folder to a different user using the following steps:

Step 1: Right-click on the folder name, and the following menu should appear:

Click “Download” to download the folder to your computer. It will save as a zip file.

Step 2: Unzip the folder in your computer.

Step 3: Switch to the Gmail account of the target user (if you have access) and go to Google Drive. If you don’t have access, copy the folder to a USB drive and give it to the target user physically.

Step 4: As the target user, click “New” and upload the folder to your Google Drive:

Step 5: Remove the folder from the original Google Drive.